• Faithful to my Homeland, the Republic of Poland



  • basic information


    Official name: Republic of Poland

    Population: 38,5 mill.
    Area: 312.679 km2
    Nationalities: 98 % Poles; German, Belarussian, Ukrainian, Lithuanian minorities
    Capital: Warsaw (1,7 mill.)
    Biggest cities: Kraków (750.000), Łódź (737.000), Wrocław (633.000), Poznań (552.000), Gdańsk (457.000), Szczecin (406.000).
    Religion: 88 % are members of the Roman-Catholic Church; Orthodox, Protestant, Jewish and Muslim minorities
    Currency: złoty (PLN)

    Membership of international organizations: EU, UN, NATO, WTO, OECD, OSCE, Schengen Agreement, Visegrád Group, Council of the Baltic Sea States

    Number of regions (voivodeships): 16


    Official website of the Republic of Poland





    Head of State: President Andrzej Duda (since 6 August 2015)
    Prime Minister: Matuesz Morawiecki (PiS)
    Foreign Minister: Jacek Czaputowicz (PiS)


    Poland is a parliamentary democracy with a president as head of state. The government is led by a prime minister. The current constitution dates back to 1997. The legislative power is exercised by a bicameral parliament consisting of a 460-member lower house (Sejm) and a 100-member upper house (Senat). Both chambers are directly elected by the voters.


    Result of the latest election to the Sejm (October 2015, number of seats):

    Law and Justice (PiS) 235

    Civic Platform (PO) 138

    Kukiz'15 42

    Modern Party (.Nowoczesna) 28

    Polish Peasants' Party (PSL) 16

    German Minority 1



    The current government is formed by Law and Justice (PiS) with Mateusz Morawiecki as Prime Minister since 12th of December 2017.



    The Polish Parliament (in English)
    The Polish President (in English)
    The Prime Minister’s Office (in English)

    Print Print Share: